About FASE

The Fabrication and Sculpting Event (FASE-2018) presents original research at the intersection of theory and practice in shape modeling, fabrication and sculpting. FASE focuses on the practical problems of generating shapes and specifically addresses the interplay of theory and practice. FASE invites practitioners who have inspiring ideas to contribute their work concerned with techniques to design, sculpt and fabricate shapes

Accepted FASE papers will be published in a special issue of the Hyperseeing (ISAMA) magazine after a one-stage review process.

More information on topics, paper format, submission guidelines, and important dates are given below.

When and Where

FASE will be co-located with Shape Modeling International (SMI 2018) Symposium and will take place from June 6th to 8th at the Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon (Portugal).

Register via SMI 2018 registration page.

FASE 2018: Submitting a Paper


Full paper submission: Sunday, April 22nd
Notification of acceptance: Monday, May 7th
Camera ready full papers due: Thursday, May 17th

All deadlines at 23:59 UTC/GMT


FASE solicits papers that pose new questions and motivate further research in designing, fabrication and sculpting. Topics should be useful, for example, in the following areas:

  • Fabrication of digital models
  • Advanced manufacturing techniques such as additive manufacturing, laser cutting or CNC milling
  • Interactive or procedural design of manufacturable shapes
  • Interconnections of complex modeling and fabrication processes
  • Visually stimulating fabrication techniques techniques or printed structures

Paper Format

Submissions should be formatted according to the formatting guidelines for Bridges - Math, Art and Science Conference. Both LaTeX and MS Word styles are available at Bridges Paper Formatting Guidelines.

We strongly recommend using the LaTeX template to format your paper, but we also accept papers formatted by MS Word according to the style guidelines for Bridges - Math, Art and Science Conference. The file must be submitted in PDF format for the first round of submission.

Full Papers: There is no page limit for Full Papers. Please make sure that the number of pages are even and the width of all figures are the same as the width of the text.

Short Papers: For short papers, the limit is 6 pages and short papers will be presented in the conference as posters.

Single-Blind Review: In FASE 2018, all decisions will be made through a single-blind review process. Therefore all submissions must be anonymous.


All FASE paper submissions (including full and short papers) will be handled via the EasyChair System, following a one-stage peer review cycle.

FASE paper presentations will be 15 minutes in length and typically be presented in sessions held as technical paper presentations at SMI 2018.

If you have any technical problems on paper submission, please contact the co-chairs for inquiry.

Submit your paper here!

FASE 2018 Co-Chairs

International Program Committee  

  • Loic Barthe IRIT - UniversitÈ de Toulouse)
  • Vladimir Bulatov (Shapeways, Inc)
  • Marie-Paule Cani (Grenoble Universities & INRIA)
  • Francesco De Comite (University of Sciences and Technology Lille)
  • Bailin Deng (Cardiff University)
  • Elizabeth Denne (Washington & Lee University)
  • Gershon Elber (Technion- Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Alex Feingold (Binghamton University)
  • Greg N. Frederickson (Purdue University)
  • Oleg Fryazinov (Bournemouth University)
  • Paul Gailiunas (Bridges)
  • Sevan Goezenen (Texas A&M University)
  • John Keyser (Texas A&M University)
  • Robert Krawczyk (Illinois Institute of Technology)
  • Robert Lang (langorigami.com)
  • Xin Li (Louisiana State University )
  • Jyh-Ming Lien (George Mason University)
  • Ligang Liu (University of Science and Technology of China)
  • Stephen Luecking (DePaul University)
  • James Mallos (Sculptor)
  • Luigi Malomo (ISTI - CNR)
  • James Dean Palmer (Northern Arizona University)
  • Alexander Pasko (Bournemouth University)
  • Helmut Pottmann (Vienna University of Technology)
  • Hong Qin (Stony Brook University)
  • Karina Rodriguez (University of Brighton)
  • Rinus Roelofs (Sculptor)
  • Damien Rohmer (Ecole Polytechnique)
  • Henry Segerman (Oklahoma State University)
  • Kenneth Sloan (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
  • Shinjiro Sueda (Texas A&M University)
  • Daina Taimina (Cornell University)
  • Kenshi Takayama (National Institute of Informatics)
  • Juraj Vanek (Arevo Labs)
  • Vinayak Vinayak (Texas A&M University)
  • Charlie Wang (Delft University of Technology)
  • Yongliang Yang (University of Bath)
  • Richard Zhang (Simon Fraser University)
  • Qingnan Zhou (Adobe Systems)


SMI 2018 Secretariat
Rua Alves Redol, 9
1000-028 Lisboa