About SMI

The Shape Modeling International (SMI 2018) Symposium is the premier international forum for the dissemination of new mathematical theories and novel computational techniques for modeling, simulating, and processing digital shape representations. SMI gathers a wide community of researchers, developers, practitioners, and students in academia and industry.

Conference proceedings will be published in a special issue of the Journal of Computers & Graphics (Elsevier) after a rigorous two-stage review process.

More information on topics, paper format, submission guidelines, and important dates are given below.

When and Where

The symposium will take place from June 6th to 8th at the Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon (Portugal).

SMI18: Submitting a Paper


Abstract for full papers: Monday, March 5th
Full paper submission: Monday, March 12th
First review notification: Friday, April 13th
Final notification of acceptance: Tuesday, May 8th
Camera ready full papers due: Friday, May 15th

All deadlines at 23:59 UTC/GMT


  • 3D geometry acquisition, registration and reconstruction
  • Behavior and animation models
  • Compression and streaming
  • Computational topology
  • Curves and surfaces
  • Deep learning for shape/scene processing
  • Shape deformation
  • Digital fabrication and 3D printing
  • Exploration of shape collections
  • Generative models of shapes/scenes
  • Implicit surfaces
  • Interactive modeling, design & editing
  • Medial and skeletal representations
  • Repairing and resampling
  • Shape analysis
  • Shape correspondence and retrieval
  • Parametric and procedural models, shape grammars
  • Shape modeling applications (biomedical, GIS, artistic, cultural heritage, and others)
  • Shape segmentation
  • Sketching & 3D input modalities
  • Subdivision methods
  • Triangle and polygonal meshes

Paper Format

Submissions should be formatted according to the style guidelines for Computers & Graphics (Elsevier) and should not exceed 12 pagesb>, including figures and references, since all accepted papers will appear in a special issue of the said journal. We strongly recommend using the LaTeX template to format your paper. But we also accept papers formatted by MS Word according to the style guidelines for Computers & Graphics (Elsevier). The file must be submitted in PDF format for the first round of submission.

Please refer to the Computers & Graphics Guide for Authors for format details and LaTeX instructions/template.

Double-Blind Review: The SMI 2018 conference will use a double-blind review process. Consequently, all submissions must be anonymous.


Abstract: An abstract should be submitted to the EasyChair System before March 5th at 23:59 UTC/GMT.

Full Papers: All papers (maximum 12 pages) should be submitted to the EasyChair System before March 12th at 23:59 UTC/GMT.

Papers should present previously unpublished, original results that are not simultaneously submitted elsewhere.

All submission will be rigorously peer-reviewed by members of the international program committee. All accepted papers will be published in the journal of Computers & Graphics (Elsevier).

Any accepted paper is required to have at least one registered author to attend and present the paper at the conference.

If you have any technical problems on paper submission, please contact the Program Chairs for inquiry.

Submit your abstract and paper here!

International Proram Committee  

  • Valery Adzhiev (Bournemouth University)
  • Ergun Akleman (Texas A&M University)
  • Pierre Alliez (INRIA Sophia-Antipolis)
  • Marco Attene (IMATI-CNR)
  • Melinos Averkiou (University of Cyprus)
  • Omri Azenkot (UCLA)
  • Hujun Bao (Zhejiang University)
  • Gill Barequet (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Alexander Belyaev (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Silvia Biasotti (IMATI-CNR)
  • Georges-Pierre Bonneau (University Grenoble Alpes)
  • Mario Botsch (Bielefeld University)
  • Tamy Boubekeur (ParisTech)
  • Adrien Bousseau (INRIA, Sophia Antipolis)
  • Michael Bronstein (Università della Svizzera Italiana)
  • Marcel Campen (Osnabrück University)
  • Nathan Carr (Adobe Systems)
  • Raphaelle Chaine (University of Lyon)
  • Sid Chaudhuri (Adobe Research India)
  • Paolo Cignoni (ISTI-CNR)
  • David Cohen-Steiner (INRIA, Sophia Antipolis)
  • Tamal Dey (Ohio State University)
  • Olga Diamanti (Stanford University)
  • Anastasia Dubrovina (Stanford University)
  • Jeremie Dumas (New York University)
  • Gershon Elber (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Leila De Floriani (Universiy of Maryland)
  • Hongbo Fu (City University of Hong Kong)
  • Eric Galin (University of Lyon)
  • Xifeng Gao (New York University)
  • Yotam Gingold (George Mason University)
  • Eric Guerin (INSA de Lyon)
  • John Hart (University of Illinois Urbana Champaign)
  • Franck Hetroy-Wheeler (University of Strasbourg)
  • Kai Hormann (University of Lugano)
  • Qixing Huang (UT Austin)
  • Ioannis Ivrissimtzis (Durham University)
  • Alec Jacobson (University of Toronto)
  • Bert Juettler (Johannes Kepler University)
  • Takashi Kanai (University of Tokyo)
  • Vladimir Kim (Adobe Research)
  • Shahar Kovalsky (Duke)
  • Guillaume Lavoué (INSA de Lyon)
  • Sylvain Lefebvre (INRIA Nancy Grand-Est)
  • Bruno Levy (INRIA Nancy Grand-Est)
  • Xin Li (Louisiana State University)
  • Yangyan Li (Shandong University)
  • Peter Lindstrom (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  • Linjie Luo (Snap Research)
  • Ligang Liu (USTC)
  • Chongyang Ma (Snap Research)
  • Geraldine Morin (University Toulouse)
  • Ahmad Nasri (Boulder Graphics LLC)
  • Matthias Niessner (TU München)
  • Yutaka Ohtake (University of Tokyo)
  • Alexander Pasko (Bournemouth University)
  • Giuseppe Patane (IMATI-CNR)
  • Jorg Peters (University of Florida)
  • Nico Pietroni (CNR-ISTI)
  • Konrad Polthier (Freie Universitat Berlin)
  • Roi Poranne (ETHZ)
  • Hong Qin (SUNY Stony Brook)
  • Damien Rohmer (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris)
  • Raif Rustamov (AT&T Labs Research)
  • Manolis Savva (Princeton University)
  • Camille Schreck (INRIA Rhone-Alpes)
  • Carlo Sequin (UC Berkeley)
  • Alla Sheffer (University of British Columbia)
  • Karan Singh (University of Toronto)
  • Mélina Skouras (MIT)
  • Justin Solomon (MIT)
  • Hao Su (University of California-San Diego)
  • Andrea Tagliasacchi (University of Victoria)
  • Chengcheng Tang (Stanford University)
  • Kai Tang (Hong Kong Univeristy of Science and Technology)
  • Daniel Thalmann (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
  • Yiying Tong (Michigan State University,)
  • Georg Umlauf (HTWG Konstanz)
  • Remco Veltkamp (Utrecht University)
  • Etienne Vouga (UT Austin)
  • Johannes Wallner (TU Graz)
  • Michael Wand (Universität Mainz)
  • Jimei Wang (Adobe Research)
  • Wenping Wang (University of Hong Kong)
  • Michael Wimmer (TU Wien)
  • Brian Wyvill (University of Bath)
  • Kai Xu (National University of Defense Technology)
  • Duan Ye (University of Missouri)
  • Craig Yu (UMass Boston)
  • Ersin Yumer (Adobe Research)


E-mail: smi2018@tecnico.ulisboa.pt


SMI 2018 Secretariat
Rua Alves Redol, 9
1000-028 Lisboa